Waiting on Wednesday [52]

waiting on wednesday2

 

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly awaiting.

 

There are so many books I’m excited about, so I’ll definitely keep doing Waiting on Wednesday. With that said, here’s my pick that I can’t wait for.

 

Title: Speak Easy, Speak Love
Author: McKelle George
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication date: September 19, 2017
Summary (via Goodreads): Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.


Why I Chose This Book:

The cover is what first drew me to this book. Then I read the summary, and loved it…especially the for fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins part. I haven’t read a ton of Shakespeare retellings, so sign me up to broaden my horizons. I’m thinking of pre-ordering this book, even though I should be on a book buying ban, because I adore the swag.

 

What upcoming releases are you most excited about?

3 thoughts to “Waiting on Wednesday [52]”

  1. That cover! It is gorgeous. If I judged books by their cover I would be reading this immediately. The description makes it sound a little kooky and full of interesting characters. Going to try to remember this is coming out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge