Waiting on Wednesday [49]

waiting on wednesday2

 

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly awaiting.

 

There are so many books I’m excited about, so I’ll definitely keep doing Waiting on Wednesday. With that said, here’s my pick that I can’t wait for.

 

Girl in Pieces

Title: Girl in Pieces
Author: Kathleen Glasgow
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication date: August 30, 2016
Summary (via Goodreads): For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The thick glass of a mason jar cuts deep, and the pain washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.


Why I Chose This Book:

This sounds incredible, and kind of dark, which I don’t mind in the slightest. I’ll be reading and reviewing this for Sunday Street Team, so I can’t wait to get my hands on the eARC soon. I think it’ll be fantastic…especially given the 4-5 star reviews it’s gotten so far!

 

What upcoming releases are you most excited about?

4 thoughts to “Waiting on Wednesday [49]”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge