Waiting on Wednesday [20]

waiting on wednesday2

 

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly awaiting.

 

There are so many books I’m excited about, so I’ll definitely keep doing Waiting on Wednesday. With that said, here’s my pick that I can’t wait for.

 

Shallow Graves

Title: Shallow Graves
Author: Kali Wallace
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication date: January 26, 2016
Summary (via Goodreads): For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.


Why I Chose This Book:

Okay, this book sounds kind of creepy, but in a good way. It’s kind of different from anything I’ve read, so I’m interested in seeing how it turns out. Only two of my Goodreads friends have rated this book so far, and their opinions were very different. One gave it 5 stars, and one gave it 2 stars. I’m not sure what to expect. The cover is kind of understated, but looks pretty cool.

 

What upcoming releases are you most excited about?

6 thoughts to “Waiting on Wednesday [20]”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge